Though the first aboriginal settlements date back some 8 000 years, Alberta wasn’t explored until the mid 18th century and didn’t join confederation until September 1, 1905. Until then, parts of modern day Alberta belonged to the Northwest Territories and the District of Athabasca.


Together with Saskatchewan and Manitoba, Alberta is one of the three prairie provinces; it is  the second largest agriculture producer and the largest cattle producer in Canada. Most known for its oil reserves which are the second largest in the world and 70% of Canada’s coal reserves. Thousands of tourist also come to Alberta each year to take advantage of the unique mix of  the prairies and high mountains.

Click on the leaves to see more or Click here to go back to the main map

Copyright @ 2021 Martin Gregus, One 50 Canada Society. All rights reserved. Designed by LEBO advertising

"One 50 Canada" word mark, "One 50 Canada"logo and "Thank you Canada" are trademarks of Martin Gregus