On July 15, 1870 the Northwest Territories became Canada's first territory and included the land of today's Yukon, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan and big parts of Manitoba, Ontario, and Quebec.


Today much of the former territory has been divided amongst other provinces and territories, however the parts that remain contain Canada’s deepest lake, the Great Slave Lake, as well as Canada's longest river the Mackenzie.

Click on the leaves to see more or Click here to go back to the main map

Copyright @ 2021 Martin Gregus, One 50 Canada Society. All rights reserved. Designed by LEBO advertising

"One 50 Canada" word mark, "One 50 Canada"logo and "Thank you Canada" are trademarks of Martin Gregus